Love at First Sight – Journaling Prompts

“Love at first sight is bull$*%(, you can’t just like someone for their looks.”
“No, love at first sight is real!”
“You just think that because your crush changes every week.”
“But I actually do like them!”
“Have you even talked to them?”
Her gaze faltered, and she looked down at those words, “No.”
“So how do you know that you like them?”
“Because they seem nice, and they’re good looking.”
“That’s all?”
“You don’t like someone, you wouldn’t get it.”
“Okay, but I still don’t think love at first sight is a real thing.”
“Yes, but it only takes your brain a millisecond to decide that you’re attracted to someone.”
“‘Attracted’ is the key word here. You don’t love them, it’s attraction, or infatuation.”
She was stumped after that. I felt a smirk tugging at the corner of my mouth.

 

“I hate Romeo and Juliet, it’s so stupid.”
“Of course you would.”
“Okay, but they knew each other for less than a day and they decided to get married.”
“It’s true love!”
“More like true lust. They hardly knew each other, I mean, the play follows the course of three days, not even.  It’s like how you manage to like a different person every week.”
“Okay, but you saying you’ve never liked someone sounds unrealistic too,” She counters. 
“I hardly ever talk to boys.”
“So how can you say it’s impossible for you to like anyone? You won’t know unless you talk to one.”
I bit my tongue after that.
She was right.

 

“So, now that I’ve told you I like, you have to tell me who you like,” She’s got this devious look on her face that makes me uncomfortable.
“No one.”
“Bull$*(#,” She tosses the deck of cards aside.
“I’m not bullshitting,” I feel a twinge of annoyance. 
“You have to like someone,” She scowls at me.  
“Do fictional characters count?”
“No! I’m talking about real people!”
“Well I don’t like anyone, I’m being honest.”
“That’s impossible, you have to have liked someone.”
“Well sorry to disappoint.”
“What about him?” She doesn’t say a name, but I know who she’s referring to.
“Don’t even go there.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *